WATCH: Every Formula E race in China

Join Formula E

Sign in or create your Formula E account

It's quick, easy and free to sign up

You'll get access to:

  • Helmet

    News. Analysis. Exclusive Features

  • Schedule

    Priority Booking. Early Bird Pricing

  • Trophy

    Competitions. Discounts. Experiences

  • Podium

    Predict. Vote. Win.


You will need to sign in or create a Formula E account.

WATCH: Every Formula E race in China

It's where it all began, ten years ago. Now Formula E returns to China for the very first Shanghai E-Prix.


China has hosted seven Formula E races across three different venues since the championship's inception in 2014. The first was on September 13 2014 in Beijing, and saw ABT CUPRA's Lucas di Grassi win the inaugural Formula E race despite only leading from the final corner to the finish line! The series started with a bang – literally – as it was home to the series’ most infamous accident in which Nick Heidfeld barrel-rolled after a collision with Nico Prost. 

PREVIEW: Five things to look forward to in Shanghai 

Since then, Sanya and Hong Kong have welcomed Formula E with open arms, and now Shanghai can add itself to the list. 

Here are the previous seven races held in China, available to watch in full for free!

Season 1 - Beijing (Round 1, 2014)


Season 2 - Beijing (Round 1, 2015)


Season 3 - Hong Kong (Round 1, 2016)

Season 3, Round 1, Hong Kong (FULL RACE) - gated

Season 4 - Hong Kong (Round 1, 2017)

Season 4, Round 1, Hong Kong (FULL RACE) - gated

Season 4 - Hong Kong (Round 2, 2017)

Season 4, Round 2, Hong Kong (FULL RACE) - gated

Season 5 - Hong Kong (Round 5, 2019)

Season 5, Round 5, Hong Kong (FULL RACE) - gated

Season 5 - Sanya (Round 6, 2019)

Season 5, Round 6, Sanya (FULL RACE) - gated

SCHEDULE: Where, when and how to watch or stream the 2024 Shanghai E-Prix Rounds 11 & 12

The 2024 Shanghai E-Prix Round 11 gets underway on Friday 24 May with Free Practice 1 at 17:00 local time.

WATCH: How to watch every race of Formula E Season 10

Track action for the first day of the double-header starts on Saturday 25 May with Free Practice 2 at 08:00 local. Qualifying follows at 10:20 local time with lights out for Round 11 scheduled at 15:00 local.

Following this, Sunday’s action starts with Free Practice 3 at 08:00, followed by Round 12 qualifying and the race at 10:20 and 15:00 local time respectively.

Follow the race LIVE and listen to full race commentary on web and in the Formula E app!

Follow all the action on-track as it happens in the Race Centre.

Keep across Live Timing – which includes a real-time interactive track map and the ability to follow your favourite driver during every session of every E-Prix – plus highlights, detailed session reports, exclusive interviews, all the standings and results as well as data, insight and reaction from trackside.