FACTS AND STATS: Close finishes and record points-scores Formula E's most visited venue

Join Formula E

Sign in or create your Formula E account

It's quick, easy and free to sign up

You'll get access to:

  • Helmet

    News. Analysis. Exclusive Features

  • Schedule

    Priority Booking. Early Bird Pricing

  • Trophy

    Competitions. Discounts. Experiences

  • Podium

    Predict. Vote. Win.


You will need to sign in or create a Formula E account.

FACTS AND STATS: Close finishes and record points-scores Formula E's most visited venue

Formula E can count Berlin as a spiritual home, having visited the city more than any other in nine seasons to-date. It's unique, a fan favourite and comes with more history than most. Here's 16 trips to Berlin in numbers.

Jerome D'Ambrosio 3

- Berlin is the only city to have hosted a race in every Formula E season. The German capital has held 16 races - six more than any other city across six difference circuit layouts

- This will be the earliest time in the year that the Berlin E-Prix has been held (22 & 23 April). The previous earliest was last season’s running, which took place on 14 May.

- Four drivers have raced in every Berlin E-Prix: Sam Bird, Sebastien Buemi, Lucas di Grassi and Jean-Eric Vergne

- Berlin has seen 13 winners, with only Buemi, di Grassi and Antonio Felix da Costa managing more than one

- Between Seasons 2 and 7, Formula E had the Super Pole qualifying format. Mahindra Racing was the team with the most appearances in Super Pole in Berlin (11). Will this historic pace around Berlin carry over to the team which currently sits seventh in the Teams’ table, and who've scored just twice in two races so far in Season 9?

- Sam Bird comes into Berlin on strong form, having claimed a third-placed finish in Sao Paulo. However, Bird’s qualifying form in Berlin is not ideal, having only outqualified his teammate twice in 16 races (Season 5, Race 1 and Season 6). No other driver had been outqualified more than nine times in Berlin

- Only Jake Dennis and Mitch Evans have outqualified their teammates in all of the last four qualifying sessions around Tempelhof Airport

- There have been three instances where a driver has claimed Julius Baer Pole Position on back-to-back days in Berlin (including Edoardo Mortara in Season 8). With nine polesitters in the last nine races in Formula E, will we see a driver claim back-to-back poles in Germany?

- German drivers have scored in 99 of the 106 Formula E races, so will likely pass the century mark on home soil. The last time a German didn’t score was the final race of Season 8 in Seoul, and four of the seven races German drivers didn’t score in came in Season 8

- Race 4 of the Season 6 Berlin finale saw the record for the biggest gap at any stage at the top of both the Drivers’ Championship (76 points) and the Teams’ Championship (125 points). The current gap at the top of the Drivers’ Championship is as large as it has been all season (24 points)

- There has been either a Safety Car or a Full Course Yellow in each of the last nine Formula E races. However, there was no appearance across either of the two races in Berlin in Season 8

- There have been nine different polesitters in the last 9 races (Jake Dennis, Oliver Rowland, Antonio Felix da Costa, Lucas di Grassi, Sebastien Buemi, Jake Hughes, Mitch Evans, Sasha Fenestraz and Stoffel Vandoorne), tying the record set in 2021 and ended by Vandoorne at Tempelhof. No polesitters has won in nine Formula E races, a series record

Trulli pole Berlin

- Jarno Trulli took pole at the inaugural race in Berlin in Season 1. Trulli was aged 40 years and 314 days at the time - the oldest Formula E polesitter

- 10 drivers have taken pole position in Berlin, with Jean-Eric Vergne having claimed the most (4)

- The polesitter has won seven times in Berlin (including five times in the six races in Season 6). The polesitter has also finished on the podium 13 times in Germany, only missing out in Seasons 1 and 2, and Race 1 in Season 7

- The lowest position that a driver has won from in Berlin is sixth, when Jerome d’Ambrosio won in Season 1, matched by Norman Nato in Race 2, Season 7

Guenther win Berlin for BMW in Formula E

- Two of Formula E’s closest finishes were in Berlin: Maximilian Guenther from Robin Frijns by 0.128s and di Grassi from Edoardo Mortara by 0.141s – both in Season 6

- Buemi and di Grassi have both claimed seven podiums in German; three more than any other driver

- Five drivers have scored over 100 points in Berlin (all of whom of Formula E champions), with di Grassi having picked up 171 points, which is the record for any driver in a single city

- Mitch Evans is the only driver to have qualified in the top 10 in every race so far in Season 9, with his lowest starting position being 10th in the opening race of the season in Mexico City

Jerome D'Ambrosio

- This track has the distinction of twice producing a race winner that never led a single lap of the race. In 2015, di Grassi was disqualified from victory, handing the win to second-placed Jerome d’Ambrosio, and in Race 2 in 2017 a 10-second unsafe release penalty was applied to Felix Rosenqvist after he crossed the line first on the road, handing the win to Buemi

- There have been three retirement-free races in Formula E history, and they have all come at Tempelhof (2015, 2018, 2022)

- According to Formula E data, there were 114 on-track passes during the Sao Paulo E-Prix, a race that lasted for 35 laps and just over 53 minutes. That averages 3.2 passes per lap, or more than 2 passes per minute for the race’s entire duration! When counting only at the start/finish line, there has been a remarkable sequence of one lead change at Round 1, two changes at Round 2, then three lead changes in Round 3, four lead changes at Round 4 and five in Round 5. The streak was ended at Round 6 in Sao Paulo, because there were 7 lead changes!

- After only six races, 14 different drivers have led a lap in 2023 (only 2 short of the series record, set in 2021 / Season 7), with NIO 333 and ABT CUPRA being the only teams to have not had a car run at the front so far. Ironically, Sao Paulo was the first time in Formula E history that only five teams scored points, the minimum possible number under the current points format