Formula E extends contract with Berlin's Tempelhof Airport for another two years

The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship will continue to be held at Berlin Tempelhof Airport for the next two years.

An extended contract has been signed and was marked by the visit of the Governing Mayor of Berlin, Franziska Giffey to the 2022 Shell Recharge Berlin E-Prix Round 8 on Sunday at Tempelhofer Feld. Mayor Giffey also awarded Nyck de Vries (Mercedes-EQ) the winner's trophy on the podium post-race.

She met Alejandro Agag, Founder and Chairman of Formula E, Jamie Reigle, Chief Executive Officer and Alberto Longo, Co-Founder and Chief Championship Officer of Formula E pre-race on the grid.

Mayor of Berlin

“We are delighted that the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship is taking place in our capital for the eighth time," said the Mayor. "Berlin is the only city that has been on the racing calendar every year since the inaugural season in 2014 and the iconic Tempelhof Airport provided the venue for the event for the seventh time this weekend.

"The track has quickly become one of the most well-known racetracks in Formula E, and I am therefore delighted that it has been contractually secured that Formula E will also take place on the Tempelhof site for the next two years.“

"Formula E not only offers us exciting electric racing, but is also an important platform to promote technological and sustainable innovations that can facilitate our transition to a greener and electric future," Giffey added.