Rowland snatches maiden Pole in Sanya showdown

After a sensational performance in the morning ahead of the 2019 FWD Sanya E-Prix, Nissan e.dams' Oliver Rowland claims his maiden Pole with reigning champ Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah) close behind in second. With Rowland on Pole, the ABB FIA Formula E Championship sees its sixth different Poleman take to the grid in six races.  

In third is BMW i Andretti Motorsport's Antonio Felix da Costa, with Audi Sport Abt Scheaffler's Daniel Abt, who starts the race six places above his teammate di Grassi. 

A shocking hot lap for Sebastien Buemi saw him misjudge Turn 3 and slam into the barrier for the second time today. The red faced former champ will start the race in fifth.  

Failing to make it out in Super Pole was BMW i Andretti Motorsport's Alex Sims, who cited gear selector issues. The team will have their work cut out to get the car running for the race, where Sims will start in sixth. 

Just missing out on Super Pole was DS Techeetah's Andre Lotterer, who will start the race in seventh ahead of Mahindra Racing's Jerome d'Ambrosio and his teammate Pascal Wehrlein in eighth.

Former champ and Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler driver Lucas di Grassi rounds off the top ten, followed by previous race winner Edoardo Mortara for Venturi. Envision Virgin Racing's Robin Frijns starts the race in Sanya in 12th, four places above his teammate Sam Bird. With HWA Racelab's Stoffel Vandoorne starting in 13th, the Belgian driver will start ahead of Jose Maria Lopez (Geox Dragon) and Venturi's Felipe Massa.  

Behind Bird is NIO's Tom Dillmann, with Geox Dragon's Felipe Nasr separating him from his teammate Oliver Turvey in 19th. The last three positions on the grid go to Panasonic Jaguar Racing's Mitch Evans, who glanced the wall during the session, HWA's Gary Paffett and Panasonic Jaguar Racing's Nelson Piquet Jr, who starts the race at the back of the pack.

Results are provisional and subject to change. Check the full results for the latest.