De Vries


Mercedes-Benz EQ Formula E Team

All Time Stats







Young single-seater hotshot Nyck de Vries joins the Mercedes-Benz EQ Formula E Team alongside Stoffel Vandoorne.

Starting his motorsport adventure at an early age, de Vries first cut his teeth in karting. After winning back-to-back Karting World Championship in 2010 and 2011, de Vries stepped up to single-seater racing in Formula Renault 2.0. 

The Dutchman, originally from Sneek, continued his winning ways, culminating in championship wins in Formula Renault 2.0 Alps and Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup in 2014. The following year, he raced in the Formula Renault 3.5 series finishing in third place and taking a win in the final race.

De Vries made the jump up to GP3 with ART Grand Prix in 2016. Amongst a talented grid, the Dutchman finished the year in sixth with two wins.

Advancing up the single-seater ladder, de Vries moved up to Formula 2 in 2017 driving for Rapax and then Racing Engineering. He claimed his first victory in Monaco and finished his debut year in seventh. For 2018 de Vries switched to Prema Racing and continued his upward learning curve in the Formula 1 support series with three wins and ending the year in fourth.

Reuniting with ART Grand Prix for the 2019 F2 season, de Vries performed well throughout the season. The same year, he ventured out of open-wheel racing as he joined the World Endurance Championship line-up for Racing Team Nederland.

Approaching the 2019/20 season, De Vries gained experience working with Mercedes-Benz, after joining the legendary marque in a testing capacity by taking on F1 simulator duties. This role led to a test in the Silver Arrow 01, which transpired into a full-time drive with the German outfit as it prepared for its debut year as a works team in the all-electric series.

Before graduating to a full-time drive with the Mercedes-Benz EQ Formula E Team, de Vries completed rookie tests with Audi, NIO and Envision Virgin Racing. He lines up alongside teammate Stoffel Vandoorne as they challenge for the 2019/20 championship title.

More profiles