FACTS AND STATS: Firsts from pole and Grand Slams in Rome

Join Formula E

Sign in or create your Formula E account

It's quick, easy and free to sign up

You'll get access to:

  • Helmet

    News. Analysis. Exclusive Features

  • Schedule

    Priority Booking. Early Bird Pricing

  • Trophy

    Competitions. Discounts. Experiences

  • Podium

    Predict. Vote. Win.


You will need to sign in or create a Formula E account.

FACTS AND STATS: Firsts from pole and Grand Slams in Rome

Firsts from pole, Grand Slams and three table toppers in four rounds. Here's the Hankook Rome E-Prix double-header in numbers.

Rome start Season 9

Rome winners’ feats

- Mitch Evans’ Rome win was his first from pole. In contrast, Jake Dennis’ five wins have come after starting on the front row

- Race 1 also marked the first occasion Evans had topped every session on a race day

- The Race 1 win was Evans’ fourth at one venue and third consecutive win at one venue (both Formula E records). Teammate Sam Bird is the only other to have three (New York City)

- Jake Dennis is the first driver to seal a Grand Slam of Julius Baer Pole Position, TAG Heuer Fastest Lap set as a top 10 runner, the race win and every lap led in the GEN3 era. Though JEV set the overall race fastest lap he finished outside the top 10

- He’s the only driver to complete that feat twice (London, Season 8 was his first). Only three total have a Grand Slam to their name: Daniel Abt was the first to do it (Berlin, 2018). Antonio Felix da Costa followed on the way to the Season 6 title in Berlin


- Rome saw back-to-back winners from pole, marking three wins from P1 in the last four races after 13 rounds without a winner from top spot on the grid

- Over the last two seasons, only two races have been led from start to finish. In both cases it was Jake Dennis who took victory

- Jake Dennis’ gap at the top of the Driver’s World Championship is currently 24 points, which ties the largest gap so far this season (equal to the lead Pascal Wehrlein had after Sao Paulo)

- After leading 29 laps across the weekend in Rome, Jake Dennis has surpassed 500 kilometres led in Formula E (the eighth driver to do so)

- Fourth in Race 1 was Dennis’ first points finish in Season 9 that wasn’t a podium

- Race 1 saw Jaguar become only the third team, and the only current team, to have had multiple front row lockouts. The team’s previous was in New York, Season 7, which was Sam Bird’s most recent victory in Formula E


- Jaguar have claimed two Julius Baer Pole Positions in the same season for the first time (Evans: Hyderabad, Rome Race 1)

- Nick Cassidy took the standings lead after Race 1 to make it three table toppers in four rounds

Best of the rest

- Lap 13 in Race 2 from Stoffel Vandoorne marked the 80,000th racing lap completed in Formula E. Lucas di Grassi holds the record for the most racing laps completed (3,933)

- Nico Mueller’s P6 was his and ABT CUPRA’s best of the season. He scored as many points in Race 1 (8) as the team had done throughout Season 9. 10th in Race 2 meant his and the team’s first consecutive score of the season

- Norman Nato secured Nissan’s first podium as a full manufacturer team in Race 2 with P2. They were Nissan e.dams prior to GEN3. Four points finishes in a row is his longest run in Formula E

- Sacha Fenestraz tied Evans for laps led in Race 1 but finished only 10th

- Sam Bird’s secured his fourth podium of the season in Race 2. He’s the only driver with more than one yet to have won in Season 9

- Fourth in Race 2 was Edo Mortara’s best of the season – some comeback after that huge Race 1 shunt


- Nick Cassidy has started from the fifth row in 7/14 races in Season 9. Despite this, he has finished in the top two in four of those seven (including Race 1 in Rome)

- Buemi scored a tenth points finish of Season 9 in Race 2 with P5. That’s the most of any driver yet to score a podium

- Max Guenther scored his 250th Formula E point after P3 in Race 1. Race 1 was Gunther’s 65th race – the longest a driver has taken to reach 250 points

Race records

- 13 finishers in Race 1 tied the lowest in Formula E history. There are four previous instances (Monaco 2015, London 2016, Seoul 2022 and Cape Town 2023)

- Nick Cassidy and Jean-Eric Vergne are the only drivers to have completed every racing lap in Season 9


- Race 1 was also Formula E’s longest ever (1hr37m02.976s)

- Mitch Evans topped the Saturday practice session by 0.613 seconds, which was the biggest gap in a practice session since the Season 6 Diriyah E-Prix

- Kiwis now have over 1,000 points in Formula E. Evans has 687 and Cassidy 315 points. Brendon Hartley scored two in Season 6

- New Zealanders have also won five of the last eight races

Quali tidbits

- Sam Bird and Jake Dennis have become the first drivers to have topped their qualifying group four times this season

- Max Gunther has become the first driver to have reached six consecutive Duels in Season 9