FACTS AND STATS: Record overtakes and race leaders in Berlin

Join Formula E

Sign in or create your Formula E account

It's quick, easy and free to sign up

You'll get access to:

  • Helmet

    News. Analysis. Exclusive Features

  • Schedule

    Priority Booking. Early Bird Pricing

  • Trophy

    Competitions. Discounts. Experiences

  • Podium

    Predict. Vote. Win.


You will need to sign in or create a Formula E account.

FACTS AND STATS: Record overtakes and race leaders in Berlin

The 2023 SABIC Berlin E-Prix double-header won't be forgotten in a hurry. We've just about got our heads around what happened on-track with records falling left, right and centre. Here's what we learned from Rounds 7 & 8 in numbers.

Berlin start

Polesitters race takes another twist

- Qualifying for Round 7 saw Sebastien Buemi retake the record for the most Julius Baer Pole Positions outright, having previously been tied with Jean-Eric Vergne. The Swiss had held the record between Seasons 2 and 8. It was also Envision Racing’s 13th pole as a team, equalling the total set by Buemi’s former team Renault e.dams

- Robin Frijn’s Julius Baer Pole Position in Berlin was the first time that he has outqualified his teammate, Nico Mueller, in the four races Frijns has taken part in Season 9

- Sam Bird claimed his 14th front row start in Berlin, which ties him with Lucas di Grassi and puts Bird only behind Sebastien Buemi (23) and Jean-Eric Vergne (22)

Screenshot 2023-04-23 at 20.01.55

- With the three points that Sebastien Buemi picked up for taking pole position in the Saturday race, Envision Racing took the record for the most Formula E bonus points by a team. The team have scored three points for topping Qualifying Groups sessions (a rule only used only in Season 6 and Season 7), 42 points for Julius Baer Pole Positions and 21 points for TAG Heuer Fastest Laps

- Andre Lotterer is just the fourth driver to have been outqualified 10 times in a row. Surprisingly, two of the other three drivers are former Formula E race winners (Daniel Abt and Nico Prost). The final driver on the list of former Aguri, Techeetah and NIO driver Ma Qing Hua

- Sergio Sette Camara, Robin Frijns and Nico Mueller all achieved their first top 10 grid slots of the season in Berlin, meaning all 22 full time drivers on the grid have qualified in the top 10 already in Season 9

- With Sette Camara, Frijns and Muller also making it in the Duels in Berlin, Nissan’s Norman Nato is now the only full-time driver to have not made the knockouts so far in Season 9. The Frenchman’s best qualifying of the season was a 10th place in Sao Paulo

Record race leaders

- Eight different drivers led at least one lap during the first race in Berlin, which is a new Formula E record. The previous record was six, set back in the Season 1 Miami E-Prix and the Season 2 Putrajaya E-Prix. Seven drivers then led a lap during Sunday’s race

Oliver Askew and Saunders CB break down Berlin Round 8

- For just the second time in Formula E, Jake Dennis led an E-Prix without going on the claim the win, having led five laps on Saturday before spinning out and making contact with Antonio Felix da Costa. The only other occasion was the second race at last season’s London E-Prix, in which Dennis finished in second place

- Envision Racing and DS Penske have now both led laps in all of the last five E-Prixs. This is the first time that any team has led five consecutive races since DS Techeetah in Season 6. Renault e.dams are the only other team to have led more than five races in a row, having led nine consecutive races between the Season 2 Berlin E-Prix and the Season 3 Paris E-Prix

- With the 12 laps that Sebastien Buemi led across the two races in Berlin, the Season 2 champion has now led over 500 laps in Formula E (becoming the first driver to reach the milestone). The second race in Berlin was also the 26th race Buemi has led in Formula E, taking the record previously set by Lucas di Grassi

- Mitch Evans has now won four races in April (all three of the New Zealanders wins in Rome also came in April). Sebastien Buemi is the only other driver to have claimed four wins in the same month (having won four times in May)

- With Pascal Wehrlein’s sixth place finish on Saturday, TAG Heuer Porsche surpassed 500 Formula E points. 11 teams have now scored 500 points in Formula E, with five teams having reached the milestone in Berlin

- Dan Ticktum is the first driver to have been leading an E-Prix at the end of Lap 1 having started fourth on the grid. The Brit overtook Stoffel Vandoorne, Sam Bird and Sebastien Buemi into the first turn to lead his first Formula E laps. There have only been four instances where the driver starting third on the grid was leading the E-Prix at the end of the opening lap

Overtaking highs

- There were 362 overtakes in Berlin: 190 on Saturday and 172 on Sunday. Record highs for the season

- No driver managed to lead three consecutive laps across the first 23 laps in Sunday’s race. Nick Cassidy then led 17 laps in a row to take his second Formula E victory

- All 22 full-time drivers have now scored points in Season 9

- 18 drivers have already led a lap in Season 9 (after just eight races), which is a record for a single season. The only four full season drivers to have not led a lap are: Andre Lotterer, Oliver Rowland, Sergio Sette Camara and Norman Nato

- Pascal Wehrlein has now led the championship for the last six races, becoming just the fourth driver to lead the championship for six races in a row. Every other driver to have led the championship for at least five consecutive races is a former Formula E champion

- The second race in Berlin was just the eighth Formula E race in which none of the top three drivers on the grid finish on the podium. Robin Frijns finished in 17th place after starting on pole for the second time in his career, Nico Muller took his first points of the season by finishing in ninth place and Sebastien Buemi finished in 20th place after having to make a mid-race pit stop

- The Berlin double-header was just the second in Formula E where both winners came from outside the top two rows on the grid (Mitch Evans from eighth on the grid and Nick Cassidy from ninth on the grid). The other occasion also took place in Season 9 – in Diriyah

- Brazilian drivers have failed to score any points in the last four Formula E races (the nation had previously never gone more than two races in a row without scoring a point)