Di Grassi heads the way in ultra-close Practice 3

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler’s Lucas di Grassi posted the fastest time in Practice 3 ahead of the Berlin E-Prix presented by CBMM Niobium Round 7,with the top six drivers, representing five teams, separated by less than a tenth-of-a-second.

Most drivers took the bulk of the session as an opportunity to run in race mode at 200 kW available power, and work on their regen and energy management around the Reverse Berlin Tempelhof Circuit.

Learning from Round 6 looked to be the focus, but when the 250 kW runs began towards the end of the session, we got our taster of what's to come in qualifying.

The lap times started to tumble with di Grassi – who qualified down in 21st yesterday before romping through to ninth in the race – posting the benchmark. His 1:06.732 was just a hair quicker than the 1:06.799 set by Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah) in yesterday’s Super Pole.

Andre Lotterer (TAG Heuer Porsche) followed in second spot just 0.009 seconds back, with Max Guenther (BMW i Andretti Motorsport), Mitch Evans (Panasonic Jaguar Racing) and Alex Sims (BMW i Andretti Motorsport) all inside the quickest time set at the Tempelhof finale so far.

Round 6 race winner, and standings leader, da Costa rounded out the top six just a hundredth-of-a-second further back, with 0.5 seconds between di Grassi at the top of the timesheets and Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing) in 15th.



As it stands ahead of Round 7, yesterday's race winner and standings leader da Costa tops the FANBOOST tally with Mercedes-Benz EQ driver Stoffel Vandoorne some way back in second and Daniel Abt (NIO 333) third.

YOUR VOTE COUNTS! Give your favourite driver a power-boost with FANBOOST

It could not be closer between our 12 teams and 24 drivers heading into qualifying, coming up at 14:00 local time with Round 7 to follow at 19:00 local time.

Practice 3 | Round 7 | 2020 Berlin E-Prix | Presented by CBMM | Niobium