Vandoorne secures pole for final round of the 2019/20 ABB FIA Formula E Championship

Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-Benz EQ) produced the goods in Super Pole ahead of the Berlin E-Prix Round 11 to take Julius Baer Pole Position from Sebastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams) and Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler’s Rene Rast.

Vandoorne’s 1:15.468 sees him in with a shout of second in the Drivers’ Championship with the current top six in the running occupying the bottom seven places on the grid – and Oliver Rowland (Nissan e.dams), currently second in the table, starting from last spot.

“I needed this after the last couple of races,” said the Belgian. “I’ve not qualified the strongest here in Berlin and to pull that one off was unexpected.

WATCH: Don't miss a minute of Round 11 from Berlin

“I was on the back foot a little bit after practice but managed a good lap in the groups and in Super Pole. It’s a long race ahead and anything can happen in Formula E. There are some sensible guys at the front. If we execute things perfectly with the race pace we’ve shown in the last couple of races, we should have a good result.”

Rene Rast followed up a maiden podium in Round 10 with third here, whilst Nyck de Vries in the sister Mercedes-Benz lines up fourth having made it four Super Pole sessions in six races at Tempelhof. The team is vying with BMW i Andretti Motorsport and TAG Heuer Porsche for the honour of the best-placed German automotive giant in the Teams' table and, as it stands, its chances look good.

Envision Virgin Racing’s Robin Frijns impressed again to take fifth, with the team eyeing third in the championship, and Edo Mortara (ROKiT Venturi Racing) made it three Mercedes powertrains in the top six.

Group one all managed to set a time today, after yesterday’s qualifying drama, though none of the standings top six were able to make it through to Super Pole in an extremely competitive qualifying session, with the top 23 drivers all falling within 0.7 seconds in what was among the closest-run sessions in Formula E history.

The first six drivers saw their times immediately superseded by group two’s runners with the circuit improving throughout. De Vries, Frijns and Rast were able to add themselves to that top six as qualifying progressed.

The Berlin E-Prix Round 11 gets underway at 19:00 CEST around the New Berlin Tempelhof Circuit, and the battle for bragging rights in both championships is looking extremely finely poised.

Before we get underway with the final race of the season this evening, catch up with highlights of yesterday's race action or take a look at the stories behind-the-scenes of this unprecedented nine-day six-race season finale with our miniseries - 9 Days in Berlin.


Voting is still open for FANBOOST ahead of the Berlin E-Prix Round 11, with Mercedes-Benz EQ’s Stoffel Vandoorne heading the way on 25 percent of the vote ahead of da Costa, Daniel Abt (NIO 333), Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler) and Andre Lotterer (TAG Heuer Porsche).

YOUR VOTE COUNTS! Give your favourite driver a power-boost with FANBOOST

Qualifying | Round 11 | 2020 Berlin E-Prix