Lynn takes stunning pole on debut

Alex Lynn stunned his rivals by taking Pole Position on his Formula E debut for DS Virgin Racing.

The ex-GP3 champion had already shown his potential by setting the pace in the opening practice session for the Qualcomm New York City ePrix. Still it was a great effort to make the Super Pole shoot-out by setting the fourth fastest time in the qualifying group stages.

Lynn then delivered a superb lap in the one-lap battle for pole, and when DS Virgin team-mate Sam Bird – who was fastest in the groups – made a small error into T1, Lynn's debut pole was confirmed.

“Just to be here and racing in New York is so great and to be on Pole Position for my first race is a little bit unbelievable,” he said. “We’ll try to have a good race this afternoon and score as many points as we can.”

Daniel Abt did an excellent job to secure second for Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport, while Jean-Eric Vergne was a solid third for TECHEETAH. Bird’s error left him fourth, while fifth place was taken by Jerome D’Ambrosio.

The Faraday Future Dragon Racing driver was the star of the group stages, setting the second fastest time, but a huge lock-up and oversteery moment into the first corner ended any hopes of pole.

Nick Heidfeld just missed out on Super Pole for Mahindra and starts P6, but team-mate Felix Rosenqvist was on course to make it when he made a costly mistake that leaves him 18th on the grid.

Nelson Piquet Jr and Oliver Turvey were seventh and eighth for NextEV NIO, while Nico Prost was the top Renault e.dams runner in ninth. His rookie team-mate Pierre Gasly was very quick through the first sector, but a mistake later in the lap means he will start 19th.

Lucas di Grassi was frustrated to be only 10th, courtesy of a yellow flag on his fast lap after Maro Engel’s Venturi stopped on track. He’ll line up in last place for the race, which starts at 4pm (local time).

Qualcomm New York City ePrix qualifying times

  1. Alex Lynn, DS Virgin Racing, 1:03.296
  2. Daniel Abt, Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport, 1:03.534
  3. Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH, 1:03.537
  4. Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing, 1:03.557
  5. Jerome D’Ambrosio, Faraday Future Dragon Racing, 1:07.203
  6. Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra, 1:03.193
  7. Nelson Piquet Jr, NextEV NIO. 1:03.361
  8. Oliver Turvey, NextEV NIO, 1:03.385
  9. Nico Prost, Renault e.dams, 1:03.433
  10. Lucas di Grassi, Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport, 1:03.480
  11. Stephane Sarrazin, TECHEETAH, 1:03.580
  12. Loic Duval, Faraday Future Dragon Racing, 1:03.521
  13. Adam Carroll, Panasonic Jaguar Racing, 1:03.555
  14. Mitch Evans, Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport, 1:03.637
  15. Tom Dillmann, Venturi, 1:03.795
  16. Robin Frijns, Andretti, 1:03.830
  17. Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindria, 1:04.300
  18. Antonio Felix da Costa, Andretti, 1:04.585
  19. Pierre Gasly, Renault e.dams, 1:04.936
  20. Maro Engel, Venturi, 1:17.571