Di Grassi nets Qualifying Group 4

Title hopeful Lucas di Grassi has secured a potentially favourable draw in Group 4 in the Qualifying Group Lottery ahead of the 2017 FIA Formula E Qualcomm New York City ePrix.

Di Grassi needs to maximise his points haul this weekend to close down the 32-point gap to Sebastien Buemi, and being in the final of the four groups should mean he has the best of the track conditions and the best chance of making Super Pole.

Newcomers Alex Lynn for DS Virgin Racing and Pierre Gasly for Renault e.dams were drawn in Group 3 and Group 1 respectively.

For the first stage of qualifying the drivers are divided into four groups of five, with each driver having six minutes to set their best lap. The five fastest drivers then go out one-by-one in the Super Pole shoot-out in a bid to secure Julius Baer Pole Position.

The order for Super Pole is determined by the reversed order of the fastest time from the group stages ie the driver who was fifth fastest going first, the fourth fastest second and so on.

Qualifying for the Berlin ePrix gets underway at 12:00 (local time).

Group 1
Antonio Felix da Costa, Andretti

Loic Duval, Faraday Future Dragon Racing

Pierre Gasly, Renault e.dams

Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH

Robin Frijns, Andretti

Group 2
Nico Prost, Renault e.dams

Jerome D’Ambrosio, Faraday Future Dragon Racing

Mitch Evans, Panasonic Jaguar Racing

Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra Racing

Stephane Sarrazin, TECHEETAH

Group 3
Daniel Abt, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport

Alex Lynn, DS Virgin Racing

Adam Carroll, Panasonic Jaguar Racing

Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing

Nelson Piquet Jr., NextEV NIO

Group 4
Lucas di Grassi, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport

Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing

Oliver Turvey, NextEV NIO

Tom Dillmann, Venturi

Maro Engel, Venturi