Buenos Aires ePrix - Qualifying groups

The qualifying groups for the 2017 FIA Formula E Buenos Aires ePrix - Round 3 - have been announced (please see below).

The qualifying session lasts one hour and sees drivers divided into four groups, with each group having six minutes to set their best lap. Full power of 200kW is available throughout with drivers only able to use one car. The five fastest drivers then go out one-by-one in the Super Pole shoot-out in a bid to secure Julius Baer pole position.

The fifth fastest driver from the group stages goes out first, when he/she crosses the line to start their flying lap, the pitlane light turns green and the fourth fastest driver heads out onto the track and so on. The driver who sets the fastest time will be awarded an additional three points.

Qualifying for the Buenos Aires ePrix gets underway at 12:00 (local time).

Group 1

Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing

Maro Engel, Venturi

Mitch Evans, Panasonic Jaguar Racing

Robin Frijns, Andretti

Adam Carroll, Panasonic Jaguar Racing

Group 2

Nelson Piquet Jr, NextEV NIO

Jerome D’Ambrosio, Faraday Future Dragon Racing

Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams

Lucas di Grassi, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport

Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH

Group 3

Stephane Sarrazin, Venturi

Loic Duval, Faraday Future Dragon Racing

Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing

Antonio Felix da Costa, Andretti

Jose Maria Lopez, DS Virgin Racing

Group 4

Nico Prost, Renault e.dams

Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra Racing


Daniel Abt, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport

Oliver Turvey, NextEV NIO