Vandoorne officially crowned ABB FIA Formula E World Champion at FIA Prize-Giving

Join Formula E

Sign in or create your Formula E account

It's quick, easy and free to sign up

You'll get access to:

  • Helmet

    News. Analysis. Exclusive Features

  • Schedule

    Priority Booking. Early Bird Pricing

  • Trophy

    Competitions. Discounts. Experiences

  • Podium

    Predict. Vote. Win.


You will need to sign in or create a Formula E account.

Vandoorne officially crowned ABB FIA Formula E World Champion at FIA Prize-Giving

Stoffel Vandoorne - then of Mercedes-EQ - was officially crowned ABB FIA Formula E World Champion at the FIA's annual prize-giving ceremony last weekend, amid celebration of world motorsport's highlights from a stand-out season.


Formula E's Derin Adetosoye was on hand to help front the event which celebrated the best of the action across the FIA's motorsport championships in 2022, as well as their respective title winners.

FIA President Mohammed Ben Sulayem invited the winners along on behalf of the Senate and joint World Councils of the governing body to formally crown the title-winners.

The night celebrated not just the world champions and their teams but also the many people who make the sport what it is.

FIA President Mohammed Ben Sulayem, said: “It is an honour that this 2022 edition, my first as FIA President, takes place in Bologna, at the heart of ‘Motor Valley’. It is a city and a region rich in motor sport and automotive history. My warmest thanks to the Automobile Club d’Italia (ACI), Regione Emilia-Romagna and the Italian Trade Agency for hosting us, and to our partners for their support.

“Tonight, we honour the stars of our sport – our World Champions, and I would also like to thank all the manufacturers, teams and promoters who provide such strong support. Most of all, I would like to thank the thousands of volunteers and marshals who freely dedicate their time to ensure the safety and success of events all over the world.

“This year we have taken significant steps forward on regulations and advanced technology, with the debut of the hybrid-powered Rally 1 category in WRC, a second successful year of the Hypercar category in the FIA World Endurance Championship, the dawn of the electric Rallycross era, the launch of the Formula E Gen3 car and approval by the FIA World Motor Sport Council of the 2026 F1 Power Unit Regulations.

“Across the entire FIA motor sport portfolio, we are promoting environmental sustainability – towards our goal of net-zero by 2030.”

Belgium’s Stoffel Vandoorne took to the stage to be presented with the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship Drivers’ trophy ahead of Mitch Evans (Jaguar TCS Racing) and Edoardo Mortara. Vandoorne said: “It’s not every year you have the opportunity to win a world championship, so I’m obviously very pleased and happy I managed to win this year in the final season for Mercedes as well. With Mercedes EQ we had an incredible journey together and to finish it off with a world championship title is something special.”

The Teams’ award was collected by Mercedes-EQ Team Principal Ian James.