Lotterer clinches Pole in Mexico City, Mahindra drops to the back

TAG Heuer Porsche frontman Andre Lotterer clinches the Julius Baer Pole Position after a fraught morning in Mexico City. The German - still yet to win a race - starts ahead of Panasonic Jaguar Racing's Mitch Evans and Mercedes-Benz EQ rookie Nyck de Vries. 

Andre Lotterer clinched TAG Heuer Porsche's debut Julius Baer Pole Position in Mexico City setting a 1:07.922s lap. The German driver will start ahead of Panasonic Jaguar Racing's Mitch Evans and Mercedes-Benz EQ rookie Nyck de Vries in third. 

Despite setting the third fastest time in the Super Pole shootout, Mahindra Racing's Pascal Wehrlein will start the race at the back of the grid after a penalty is applied for changing the gearbox. After coming painfully close to winning his first race here in Mexico last year, before he was overtaken just metres from the finish, the young German driver will need to fight through the pack to gain any points here in the capital city.

Behind de Vries sits former champion Sebastian Buemi (Nissan e.dams), while Envision Virgin Racing's Sam Bird rounded off the Super Pole selection and will start the race fifth.

Just missing out on Super Pole was fellow Envision Virgin Racing driver Robin Frijns who starts the race sixth in Mexico. Behind Frijns sits Geox Dragon's Nico Mueller and reigning champion Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah), who looks to improve on his steady start to the season.

Right behind Vergne is his teammate Antonio Felix da Costa and Mercedes-Benz EQ Stoffel Vandoorne, with the championship leader rounding out the top 10. Rokit Venturi Racing's Edoardo Mortara will start in 11th.

After a miserable race here in Mexico City last year, Nissan e.dams' Oliver Rowland will start the race in 12th ahead of Geox Dragon's Brendon Hartley who moves up to 13th after Jerome D'Ambrosio joins his teammate down the bottom of the starting order after being penalised for a gearbox change.

Further down the order, TAG Heuer Porsche driver Neel Jani will start 14th, in front of former Mexico race winner Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler) and last race winner BMW i Andretti Motorsport's Max Guenther in 16th. 

Near the back of the grid sits Panasonic Jaguar Racing's James Calado and Guenther's teammate Alex Sims in 17th and 18th, while Venturi's Felipe Massa starts 19th. Both NIO drivers Ma Qinghua and Oliver Turvey start 20th and 21st, with Turvey suffering from a technical breakdown during the qualifying session.

With the penalty for both gearbox changes applied, Mahindra's Pascal Wehrlein will start in 22nd, while his teammate D'Ambrosio will start 23rd. 

After a troubled morning for the Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler squad following Daniel Abt's collision in Practice 1, the German driver returned to the track after being discharged from hospital but failed to make it out into Qualifying. It is unknown if the Audi driver will make it out for the race.