Rosenqvist clinches Julius Baer Pole Position in Rome

Perfectly calm and collected, Rosenqvist cruised into Pole after posting a time of 1:36.311, just under a second slower than the 1:35.467 he posted in Free Practice 2 - the fastest time of the day. "It's good to be back...but it's not over yet" said the Swedish Mahindra Racing driver, moments after stepping out of the car.

Following closely behind, was Sam Bird with a time 1:36.987 putting him in second for the race at 16:00. Behind Bird was Panasonic Jaguar Racing's Mitch Evans in third, followed by Andre Lotterer and Sebastien Buemi in fifth.

For Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler's Lucas di Grassi, he just missed out on Super Pole, finishing sixth in Qualifying with a time of 1:36.973.

But the session wasn't without drama, starting with home race hero Luca Filippi (NIO Formula E Team) and Jerome d'Ambrosio who both failed to set a hot lap after miscalculating the session times. Following that, Edoardo Mortara (Venturi Formula E) was looking in good shape on his flying lap until he kissed the wall, damaging the rear right wheel of the car. Powering on, the half Italian, half Swiss driver wrestled the car over the finish line, with tyre smoke pouring from the back.

With Mortara back in the pits, more drama unfolded as Jose Maria Lopez (Dragon) and Antonio Felix da Costa (MS&AD Andretti) collided in the pit lane as they drove out to start their laps. With both drivers unable to complete Qualifying laps, a furious Lopez stormed back to the garage.

Mid-way through the Qualifying session, there was less than a second between the top five drivers, showing how close the competition is as we kickstart the European leg of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship.

With the race taking place at 16:00, it's all still to play for here in Rome. Click here to find out how to tune in to all the action.

Provisional Qualifying results

1 - Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing

2 - Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing

3 - Mitch Evans, Panasonic Jaguar Racing

4 - Andre Lotterer, Techeetah

5 - Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams

6 - Lucas di Grassi, Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler

7 - Oliver Turvey, NIO Formula E Team

8 - Jean-Eric Vergne, Techeetah

9 - Daniel Abt, Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler

10 - Nick Hiedfield, Mahindra Racing

11 - Alex Lynn, DS Virgin Racing

12 - Tom Blomqvist, MS&AD Andretti Formula E

13 - Nelson Piquet Jr. Panasonic Jaguar Racing

14 - Maro Engel, Venturi Formula E

15 - Nico Prost, Renault e.dams

16 - Jerome d'Ambrosio, Dragon

17 - Edoardo Mortara, Venturi Formula E

18 - Luca Filippi, NIO Formula E Team

19 - Jose Maria Lopez, Dragon

20 - Antonio Felix da Costa, MS&AD Andretti Formula E