09 Oct 17

Flashback: Hong Kong one year on

October 9 may seem like any other day in the motorsport calendar but for the FIA Formula E Championship, its a very special anniversary indeed. This time last year marked the first-ever HKT Hong Kong E-Prix and start of Season Three on the city's iconic Harbourfront.

To celebrate the occasion ahead of the second Hong Kong E-Prix on December 2 2017, Formula E looks back at the top five moments from the inaugural Hong Kong E-Prix.

1. New city, new teams
Assembled on the start line alongside seasoned teams and drivers were newcomers Panasonic Jaguar Racing and TECHEETAH. But it was far from a case of beginners luck for either team, with both finishing the race bottom of the team rankings.

2. Start line shunt for local hero Ma Qing Hua
Within the opening minutes of the race, TECHEETAH's Ma Qing Hua was shunted at Turn Two by Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler driver Lucas di Grassi, just meters from the start line. Damage to the front and rear of his car resulted in a disappointing early retirement for the Chinese-born racing driver, in front of thousands of local fans.

3. Di Grassi's three-car overtake
Despite not managing to shift Renault e.dams driver Sebastien Buemi from the top spot overall, the Hong Kong race saw Lucas di Grassi pull off one of the most impressive overtakes of the whole season. In a stunning three-car chase down the back straight of the city circuit, di Grassi edged ahead of Panasonic Jaguar Racing's Mitch Evans and DS Virgin Racing's Jose-Maria Lopez, stealing the lead into Turn Three.

4. Top line endorsement
Speaking after the race, Formula E founder and CEO Alejandro Agag praised the Hong Kong Formula E team for making an event in the heart of one of the busiest cities in the world a resounding a success. "I think this event is one of the top motorsport events, not only in Formula E but any other motorsport in the world,” said Agag.

5. Buemi won...again
Successfully defending his Season Two Championship title, Renault e.dams driver Sebastien Buemi furthered his spate of victories by taking the chequered flag on the Hong Kong Harborfront, making it his seventh win in the all-electric street racing series.

One year on, Hong Kong's Harbourfront will once again play host to the debut race of Season Four on December 2 2017. Don't miss out on the action - click here for tickets.