Abt penalised, Turvey on pole

Daniel Abt has been sent to the back of the grid for the Julius Baer Mexico City ePrix after his car was found to be running with illegal tyre pressures.

Abt, along with Faraday Future Dragon Racing’s Jerome D’Ambrosio, have been served with the penalty following post-qualifying checks.

It means that Oliver Turvey gets a surprise birthday present of his first Formula E pole. Alongside on the grid will be DS Virgin Racing’s Jose Maria Lopez.

The various penalties mean that Sebastien Buemi will now line up seventh.

Starting order for Julius Baer Mexico City ePrix

  1. Oliver Turvey, NextEV NIO
  2. Jose Maria Lopez, DS Virgin Racing
  3. Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH
  4. Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra
  5. Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing
  6. Antonio Felix da Costa, Andretti
  7. Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams
  8. Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra
  9. Esteban Gutierrez, TECHEETAH
  10. Adam Carroll, Panasonic Jaguar Racing
  11. Mitch Evans, Panasonic Jaguar Racing
  12. Maro Engel, Venturi
  13. Nico Prost, Renault e.dams
  14. Robin Frijns, Andretti
  15. Lucas di Grassi, Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport
  16. Nelson Piquet, NextEV NIO
  17. Stephane Sarrazin, Venturi
  18. Daniel Abt, Abt Scaheffler Audi Sport
  19. Jerome D’Ambrosio, Faraday Future Dragon Racing
  20. Loic Duval, Faraday Future Dragon Racing