07 Sep 16

Buemi ends final test on top

Sebastien Buemi and Renault e.dams led the way in both sessions, as pre-season testing concluded at Doniington Park. Buemi broke the unofficial lap record during the morning session with a time of 1:28.910s, making it three days in a row that the record had been lowered.

TEECHEETAH had another strong test, with both Jean-Eric Vergne and Ma Qing Hua getting into the top 10 – indeed, both the all-black cars were in the top three of the morning session. Robin Frijns in the MS Amlin Andretti had more bad luck today, causing the first red flag and spending a large part of the day in the garage.

In the afternoon session, Venturi led the timings in the early stages, with both Stephane Sarrazin and Maro Engel. The stewards enforced multiple penalties on Jean-Eric Vergne (TECHEETAH), Jerome D’Ambrosio (Faraday Future Dragon Racing) and Jose-Maria Lopez (DS Virgin Racing) getting 30 minute penalties for hitting the bollards at turn 10 and overtaking under red flags.

The cars now return to their bases in Donington where they will be stripped down and packed up ready for the trip to Hong Kong, where the HKT Hong Kong ePrix kick starts the third season of all-electric racing on October 9.

Formula E collective test session - Donington Park (Day 6)

  1. Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams, 1:28.910s
  2. Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH, 1:29.109s
  3. Nico Prost, Renault e.dams, 1:29.205s
  4. Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing, 1:29.282s
  5. Loic Duval, Faraday Future Dragon Racing, 1:29.395s
  6. Daniel Abt, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport, 1:29.422s
  7. Jerome D’Ambrosio, Faraday Future Dragon Racing, 1:29.429s
  8. Jose-Maria Lopez, DS Virgin Racing, 1:29.488s
  9. Lucas di Grassi, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport, 1:29.511s
  10. Ma Qing Hua, TECHEETAH, 1:29.649s
  11. Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing, 1:29.713s
  12. Oliver Turvey, NEXTEV NIO, 1:30.717s
  13. Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra Racing, 1:29.884s
  14. Robin Frijns, Andretti Formula E, 1:29.981s
  15. Mitch Evans, Jaguar Racing, 1:30.061s
  16. Antonio Felix da Costa, Andretti Formula E, 1:30.085s
  17. Stephane Sarrazin, Venturi, 1:30.121s
  18. Nelson Piquet Jr, NEXTEV NIO, 1:30.250 s
  19. Adam Carroll, Jaguar Racing, 1:30.279s
  20. Maro Engel, Venturi, 1:30.355s