Six more Formula 1 drivers that also raced in Formula E

Únete a la Fórmula E

Inicie sesión o cree su cuenta de Fórmula E

Registrarse es rápido, fácil y gratuito

Obtendrá acceso a:

  • Helmet

    Noticias. Análisis. Características exclusivas

  • Schedule

    Reserva prioritaria. Precios de reserva anticipada

  • Trophy

    Competiciones. Descuentos. Experiencias

  • Podium

    Predecir. Votar. Ganar


Deberá iniciar sesión o crear una cuenta de Fórmula E.

Six more Formula 1 drivers that also raced in Formula E

Some 82 world class racers have got behind the wheel in Formula E, and Jodie Saxon is back for a look at six more drivers that have taken to the GEN1, GEN2 or GEN3 having also had a stint in Formula 1.

Bruno Senna Formula E

We took a look through six drivers you might not have known had taken part in F1 as well as Formula E since our inaugural campaign, and there's plenty more crossover to chat about so, we're back for part two!

Nick Heidfeld

Nick Heidfeld raced in Formula 1 from 2000 until halfway through the 2011 season, spending most of that time at Sauber through BMW's time with the team - now Stake F1 Team Kick Sauber - but at Williams, Jordan and Prost, too. The German driver scored 13 podiums in his 185 races, and currently shares the record for most F1 podiums without a race win with McLaren’s Lando Norris*. *as of the start of the 2024 season.

RACE REPLAY: Watch any race from our history IN FULL

Heidfeld joined Venturi Racing for the inaugural Formula E season in 2014/15 to finish 11th in the championship before switching to Mahindra Racing for the next three seasons. Like in F1, Heidfeld also shares the record for the most podiums without a race win in Formula E, sharing it with Andre Lotterer.

That unwanted record would have fallen at the first hurdle for Heidfeld were it not for the iconic shunt at the very first race in Formula E history - the Beijing opener - the clash with Nico Prost that was little fault of the German. Still, that moment has gone down as one of the most memorable in Formula E history.

For Season 5, Heidfeld stepped back from a full-time role and became Mahindra’s reserve driver, he also gave fans their first look at the brand new GEN3 in action when he demonstrated it at the 2022 Goodwood Festival of Speed.

Kamui Kobayashi

Kobayashi made his Formula 1 debut in the second to last round of the 2009 season for Toyota before taking on a full-time driver role at Sauber for the following seasons. The 2012 season saw Kobayashi become the first Japanese driver to claim a podium on home soil when he finished third at that year’s Japanese Grand Prix.

After a break in 2013, in which he made his FIA World Endurance championship debut, Kobayashi returned to F1 in 2014 for Caterham.


For the first two rounds of Formula E’s fourth season in 2017, Kobayashi raced for Andretti. He finished 15th and 17th in the two Hong Kong E-Prix before leaving the outfit, since then he’s won both the 24 hours of Daytona and the FIA World Endurance Championship twice.

Ahead of Formula E's inaugural Japanese E-Prix in Tokyo this season, Kobayashi is still one of only three Japanese drivers to have race in Formula E - another being past F1 star, Takuma Sato, formerly of BAR Honda and Super Aguri, with Sakon Yamamoto rounding out the trio.

Scott Speed

The fact that he has the best name for a racing driver in the history of motorsport aside, Speed raced in Formula 1 for one-and-a-half seasons between 2006 and 2007.

The American managed a handful of top 10 finishes in the championship, however due to the points system only rewarding points to the top six at the time he was racing he unfortunately has no points to show for his efforts.


Speed moved onto race in various NASCAR series' following his depature from F1 but was picked up by Andretti to take part in four races in the middle of Formula E’s 2014-15 season.

After qualifying a respectable 11th at the 2015 Miami E-Prix, Speed scythed his way through the pack to finish second behind Nico Prost. Unfortunately, the next three races did not go well for the American and he left the team following the Berlin E-Prix.

Speed made the switch to the Global Rallycross Championship and became a three-time champion in the series which now calls itself American Rallycross.

Stoffel Vandoorne

Vandoorne is inarguably a Formula E fan favourite, having ben one of the drivers to secure FANBOOST (a past fan-voted energy boost during the race that was part of Formula E until the GEN3 era) in every single race he competed in - more like VANBOOST!

Before his move to Formula E, the Belgian raced for McLaren in Formula 1. His F1 debut came when he was called up to replace an injured Fernando Alonso at the 2016 Bahrain Grand Prix, and the rookie immediately impressed by scoring a point on debut with a 10th-placed finish. He joined McLaren full-time for the 2017 and 2018 seasons, joining HWA Racelab for the 2018-19 Formula E season ahead of Mercedes' entry into the series with the team.

Stoffel Vandoorne and Mercedes-EQ seal World Championship titles as Mortara wins in Seoul

For Season 6, the outfit became Mercedes-EQ, and Vandoorne won his first race in the final round of the season at Berlin, becoming runner-up in the Drivers' standings in the process. 

READ MORE: Difficult beginnings to World Champion: Vandoorne's remarkable rise in Formula E

Although the next year was a bit quieter, with his teammate Nyck de Vries winning the championship, Vandoorne’s time came in the 2021/22 season when he was crowned as World Champion.

Since then, Vandoorne has made the switch to DS PENSKE, and still remains involved in Formula 1 as a reserve driver for both Aston Martin and McLaren.

Nelson Piquet Jr.

Piquet Jr., son of three-times F1 champion and motorsport legend Nelson Piquet, raced in Formula 1 between 2008 and 2009.

His highest finish was second place at the 2008 German Grand Prix while racing for Renault and interestingly enough, he shared the podium with another future Formula E driver: Felipe Massa, who finished third. After leaving F1, Piquet Jr. took part in various NASCAR and rallycross races until joining Team China/NEXTEV for the inaugural Formula E season.

Nelson Piquet Formula E champion

During that season, the Brazilian won two races and stood on the podium a further three times, scoring enough points to claim the first ever Formula E title by just one point over runner-up Sebastien Buemi.

Formula E’s first champion continued in the series for another three-and-a-half years before leaving to race in Stock Car Pro Series in Brasil and the European Le Mans Series.

Bruno Senna

Bruno Senna spent two-and-a-half years racing in Formula 1, with one of those coming at Williams Racing, the same team that his uncle, one of the most revered drivers in motor racing history - Ayrton Senna - had represented.

Senna’s year at Williams was his most successful in F1 as he scored 31 points to finish 16th in the championship, just one position behind teammate Pastor Maldonado.


After leaving F1, Senna switched to the FIA WEC before joining Mahindra Racing for the first two seasons of Formula E.

His first podium in Formula E came at the 2016 London E-Prix, where he shared the podium with ex-F1 driver and future double Formula E Champion Jean-Eric Vergne and ex-Lotus F1 test driver Nico Prost.

Senna returned to WEC following his stint in Formula E and has since become the first driver to win a race in every class of the championship.