Alejandro Agag wins Autosport’s 2021 Pioneering and Innovation Award

Formula E Founder and Chairman Alejandro Agag is the winner of Autosport's Pioneering Innovation Award, presented by Mahindra.

The award is presented to companies or people that have developed an outstanding and innovative product, service or event. The winner is the candidate whose pioneering work the judges believe has led to significant progress in the sport.

"Thank you to all the drivers and all the teams who helped make this all come true in Formula E and Extreme E, it is a privilege and a dream come true," Agag said.

The Spaniard brought Formula E and electric motor racing to the fore just over a decade ago. Last year, in its seventh season, the series became an FIA World Championship, with a grid comprising a host of the world's leading motor manufacturers seeking to turn the motor racing cut and thrust into a competitive technological advantage away from the race track.

Agag oversees two more pioneering electric motorsport disciplines in Extreme E - the electric off-road racing series - and the E1 powerboating series, which is scheduled to launch in early 2023.

Also celebrated at the Autosport Awards were outgoing FIA President Jean Todt, with the Autosport Gold Medal for his distinguished service to the sport, and Frede Rasmussen, who won 2021 Esports Driver of the Year following his Formula E Accelerate triumph, among a number of other successes.