NEOM McLaren Formula E Team | Formula E

Join Formula E

Sign in or create your Formula E account

It's quick, easy and free to sign up

You'll get access to:

  • Helmet

    News. Analysis. Exclusive Features

  • Schedule

    Priority Booking. Early Bird Pricing

  • Trophy

    Competitions. Discounts. Experiences

  • Podium

    Predict. Vote. Win.

NEOM McLaren Formula E Team
Bicester,  UK
  • Reserve Driver
    Taylor Barnard
  • Team Headquarters
    Bicester, UK
  • Team Car
    Nissan e-4ORCE 04
  • Team Principal
    Ian James

SEASON 2023-2024 Stats

  • Standing
  • Wins
  • Podiums
McLaren Racing announced that it would take on the title-winning Mercedes-EQ operation for the Gen3 era, starting Season 9.

The McLaren Formula E Team will be formed through the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E Team, expected to complete later this year, following agreement between McLaren Racing and Mercedes-Benz that will see the reigning ABB FIA Formula E World Championship team transfer into the McLaren Racing family.

The outfit says its entry is aimed squarely at accelerating McLaren Racing’s understanding of EV technology as part of their sustainability journey while reaching a new, more diverse global audience.

Mercedes-EQ started a radical new chapter with a grand entry into all-electric street racing in Season 6. After closing out their rookie campaign with a debut victory and third in the Teams' standings, the team set out in 2020/21 with a clear eye on the title and duly delivered, with Nyck de Vries sealing top spot at the last. De Vries will set about defending his title in Season 8, returning alongside Stoffel Vandoorne as the legendary German marque searches for double Teams’ and Drivers’ crowns.

With a motorsport history dating back to 1894, when Mercedes-Benz competed in the very first motor race between Paris and Rouen. The motorsport masters now sit among motorsport’s future in the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship.

With a strong racing pedigree outside of Formula E, including six constructors’ titles and seven drivers’ titles in the hybrid era of Formula 1, the marque has also enjoyed success in German touring cars (DTM) and sportscar racing worldwide. Few names in the sport can claim to be more successful.

Marking its first year as a full works team, the team graduated out of the HWA Racelab outfit, which competed in the 2018/19 season of the championship. Finishing ninth overall, HWA claimed one podium in 13 races with drivers Stoffel Vandoorne and Gary Paffett.

After completing its reconnaissance season in Formula E, Affalterbach-based developer HWA continued to take responsibility for managing the Mercedes cars on race weekends, while Ian James took up the post of team principal in 2019/20.

In the opening Diriyah double-header, Vandoorne romped to the podium with two third-place finishes. Between the Belgian and his teammate Nyck de Vries, the pair demonstrated rapid pace across the season, but some teething trouble meant results didn't quite match the potential. Third in the standings, and a statement one-two with Vandoorne leading de Vries home in the Berlin season finale, augured well.

In 2020/21, de Vries flew out of the blocks in Diriyah - striding to victory in Formula E's first ever night race, and the series' opening race as an FIA World Championship.

He topped every session in Round 1 and set the tone for a strong campaign. Victory in Valencia and a double podium in London followed and the Dutchman sealed the title at the last on Mercedes’ home soil in Berlin - with Vandoorne’s Rome race win and a podium in the finale ensuring the marque took the Teams’ crown.

The pair returned for Season 8, with Vandoorne this time coming out on top as the team scored an historic double-double of consecutive Drivers’ and Teams’ titles.