Join Formula E

Sign in or create your Formula E account

It's quick, easy and free to sign up

You'll get access to:

  • Helmet

    News. Analysis. Exclusive Features

  • Schedule

    Priority Booking. Early Bird Pricing

  • Trophy

    Competitions. Discounts. Experiences

  • Podium

    Predict. Vote. Win.


You will need to sign in or create a Formula E account.

Formula E granted World Championship status for 2020/21 season

Formula E granted World Championship status for 2020/21 season 

What started as nothing more than a shared dream between Formula E Founder Alejandro Agag and FIA President Jean Todt, sketched on the back of a napkin has grown into the fastest growing motorsport series on the planet. Ahead of the 2020/21 season, Formula E gains World Championship status to become the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship. 

After six years and six seasons of racing on the streets of the world's most progressive cities, Formula E gains world championship status, a move granted by the FIA - motorsport's governing body. The moment will see the series recognised as the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship from the start of the 2020/21 season, as all teams and manufacturers continue to battle on the streets to advance the adoption of more sustainable mobility.  

What started as nothing more than a dream shared by Alejandro Agag and FIA President Jean Todt has grown into the most competitive motorsport championship, boasting a current line up of 12 teams and 24 cars and drivers.  

The decision to certify the series was taken by the Federation Internationale de l’Automobile and sitting members of the FIA World Motor Sport Council (WMSC), who recently voted upon and agreed to move forward with certifying Formula E as a world championship. 

Founder & Chairman of Formula E Alejandro Agag - alongside FIA President Jean Todt - finalised the agreement together at FIA headquarters at Place de la Concorde in Paris, to officially confirm world championship status for season seven. 


“It was always our ambition to one day become an FIA world championship. Everything we have done and delivered to this point has been working towards this particular moment in time," said Agag. 

"Achieving the feat and being granted with world championship status adds more credibility to what is already a fully-fledged formula of racing and a spectacular sporting product.

"This agreement and announcement truly puts Formula E in the top tier of international single-seater racing. It has been a tremendous effort from many people involved and none of it would have been possible without the support of FIA President Jean Todt and the federation, as well as the dedication and commitment shown by our teams and partners.

"Now we can say we have done it. But it is only the beginning of a new chapter under the banner of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship.”  

Transitioning to the highest level in the FIA sanctioned single-seater hierarchy, means the most competitive line-up of teams and drivers in motorsport will be competing for the newly named ABB FIA Formula E World Championship title next season. 

“The creation and development of Formula E has been a great adventure. I am proud that today we confirm its FIA world championship status," said Todt.

"Since we started this journey, Formula E has undoubtedly gone from strength to strength. Within a short timeframe, the series has proven itself relevant for the automotive industry with two more major car manufacturers having joined the championship at the start of the current season, bringing the total number to 10.

"The commitment and professionalism of those manufacturers and their respective teams is mirrored in the quality of the driver roster, which has improved with every season.

"Since its first race in Beijing in 2014 and with every E-Prix thereafter, Formula E has proven that the concept of cutting-edge electric racing works. I wholeheartedly welcome Formula E as the latest FIA world championship.”

The announcement follows Formula E’s most successful season to date - with nine different race winners and growing audience figures - and shortly after the opening two rounds of season six and the much-anticipated arrival of Mercedes-Benz and Porsche at the SAUDIA Diriyah E-Prix.

With the countdown on until the racing kicks off in 2020 with the Santiago E-Prix on the January 18, find out more about round three of the most competitive season yet. Join us.