NIO 333 Formula E Team

NIO 333 Formula E Team

All Time Stats







NIO 333 Formula E Team is the evolution of Team China Racing that carried Nelson Piquet Jr. to claim the inaugural drivers’ championship title in 2015. Tom Blomqvist joins the loyal Oliver Turvey for 2020/21, as the pair lead the new-look squad for Season 7.

The team is the racing arm of Chinese car maker NIO - makers of the record breaking EP9 hypercar, which et a new lap record of the Nurburgring in 2017. After winning the title, Nelson Piquet Jn. remained with the team for three seasons, partnered by Oliver Turvey for a second straight campaign. For the 2017/18 season, Italian IndyCar driver Luca Filippi replaced Nelson Piquet Jn, to partner Turvey for the team's fourth season. 

The team has had mixed success in the championship, finishing a respectable fourth overall in the 2014/15 season before falling to last place in the championship standings the following year. For the 2016/17 season, the team managed to pull itself back up to sixth before falling back down to eighth at the end of the 2017/18 season. For the 2018/19 campaign, Oliver Turvey remains with the team alongside Frenchman Tom Dillmann. Together, they pilot NIOs striking green and white Gen2 challenger.

A new season brings a new name, as the Chinese team evolves into the NIO 333 Formula E Team. For 2019/20, Oliver Turvey continues with the team and is joined by Ma Qinghua. With Ma unable to complete the season, Daniel Abt was drafted in as his replacement.

After a challenging season that saw the Chinese squad end the 2019/20 campaign with no points, Tom Blomqvist lines up alongside NIO stalwart Turvey as the pair leads the team into a new FIA World Championship era with renewed hope and ambition.

Driver line-up


Get involved. Give your favourite NIO 333 Racing team driver an extra power boost in the race.