UK|20 Sep, 2016

Formula E seeking to add new cities on calendar

Formula E, the world’s first fully-electric racing series, has today announced the opportunity for new host cities to join the calendar from the 2017/18 season.

The FIA Formula E Championship races on the streets against a backdrop of some of the most iconic cities - including Hong Kong, New York, Marrakesh, Buenos Aires, Monaco, Paris and Montreal. The 2016/17 season sees 10 teams and 20 drivers go wheel-to-wheel in 12 cities spanning five continents in the fight to be crowned Formula E champion.

Approaching the opening round of the third season in Hong Kong on October 9, the series promoters are already planning the provisional schedule for the 2017/18 season. 

Through a structured selection process managed by London-based firm The Sports Consultancy, Formula E will shortly be inviting expressions of interest from new prospective host cities to join the calendar from November 2017 onwards.

Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag said: “We have enjoyed remarkable growth over the first two seasons of Formula E and now have partnerships with some of the most iconic cities in the world and cutting-edge automotive brands. There is now a unique opportunity for new cities to join our calendar and share in the continued exponential growth of the championship.” 

The selection process for the 2017/18 season was launched earlier this month with successful hosts announced in June 2017, subject to approval of the FIA World Motor Sport Council (WMSC).