Buenos Aires|14 Feb, 2017

The Buenos Aires ePrix in numbers

The Buenos Aires ePrix at Puerto Madero is the only race and track to have featured in all three FIA Formula E Championship seasons, so as a result it creates a wealth of interesting facts and stats. Here is a selection of our favourites.

Hat-trick hero? With back-to-back wins in Hong Kong and Marrakesh, Sebastien Buemi is on the verge of making Formula E history and winning three races in a row

Still on a roll… Those two wins means that Buemi has extended the number of races in a row in which he has scored points to 18. The run started in Long Beach – round six in Season 1! Stephane Sarrazin’s failure to trouble the scorers in Marrakesh ended the second longest run, passing that honour to Nico Prost, who’s been in the points for the past six races.

Dream team: Renault e.dams is the only team to have scored a point at every single Formula E race. The 37 points scored in Marrakesh increased its record tally to 576.

High riser: Da Costa’s win from seventh on the grid in the Season 1 Buenos Aires ePrix remains the lowest starting position from which a Formula E race has been won.

Quick dash: With an average speed of 114.5kmh, the Buenos Aires ePrix was the third fastest race on the Season 2 calendar. Buemi’s unofficial lap record, set in second practice last year, was recorded at an average of 129.8kmh, second only to the high speeds attained at Long Beach.

Bird’s paradise: Sam Bird has an excellent record in Buenos Aires, having set fastest lap on his way to seventh in Season 1, while he was the lights-to-flag winner following an excellent race in Season 2. Other drivers to have two top 10 finishes in Argentina are Prost, Sarrazin, Nick Heidfeld and Bruno Senna.

BA Milestones:

Da Costa’s Season 1 win was the only victory, indeed podium finish, for the Aguri team.
In Season 1, Nelson Piquet Jr scored the first podium for NextEV (nee China Racing) in Buenos Aires.

Marco Andretti made his only Formula E appearance in Season 1 in Argentina driving for the Andretti team.

Buenos Aires was also the last race in Formula E for Michela Cerruti, Ho-Pin Tung and Oriol Servia.

Prost claimed the first of his five career Formula E podiums in Buenos Aires (S1), while Jaime Alguersuari took the only front row start in the series at the same race.

Third on the grid for Nick Heidfeld in Season 1 is a career best so far, a result he matched in Beijing in Season 2.

Mike Conway made his Formula E debut in the Season 2 race and made the only Super Pole appearance of his career to boot.

Da Costa’s third on the grid for the Season 2 event is his career-best starting spot.

Marrakesh Milestones:

Last time out Felix Rosenqvist bagged his first Formula E pole position, becoming the 10th different driver to do so in the process.

It was also the first pole for Mahindra. This means all of the original Formula E teams have now claimed at least one pole position.

Neither of the two new teams – TECHEETAH and Panasonic Jaguar Racing – have yet to set pole, although Jean-Eric Vergne was fastest in the qualifying groups for the former in Marrakesh.

Buemi’s win in Marrakesh increased his record tally to eight.

It was also his 13th podium, taking him to within one of di Grassi’s all-time record.

Third place for Rosenqvist was his first podium, making him the 17th different driver to finish in the top three.

Jose Maria Lopez finished 10th to score his first Formula E point.

In total 32 different drivers have now scored points in the all-electric series.

Daniel Abt received his first FanBoost win in Marrakesh, which means 17 different drivers have now received the fan-backed power boost.

Vergne, Buemi and di Grassi lead the way, all with nine FanBoost wins.