Rules & Regulations



Below is a brief guide to the rules and regulations for the third season of the FIA Formula E Championship and the single day event format.


All events have two practice sessions, an opening 45-minute session followed by a further 30-minute session. Drivers each have two cars at their disposal with 200kW available throughout.


New for this season, qualifying now contains a Super Pole shoot-out to secure Julius Baer pole position. Qualifying is a straight fight to set the fastest time and determines the starting grid for the race. The qualifying session lasts one hour and sees drivers divided into groups, with each group having six minutes to set their best lap. Full power of 200kW is available throughout with drivers only able to use one car. The five fastest drivers then go out one-by-one in the Super Pole shoot-out. The fifth fastest driver from the group stages goes out first, when he crosses the line to start his flying lap, the pitlane light turns green and the fourth fastest driver heads out onto the track and so on. The driver who sets the fastest time will be awarded three points.


Races, or E-Prix, begin with a standing start (no formation lap). Drivers line-up on a dummy grid and slowly file into position for the race start. The race lasts for approximately 50 minutes with drivers making one mandatory pit stop to change cars. In race mode the maximum power is restricted to 170kW but the three winning FanBoost drivers each receive an extra 100kJ of energy to be used in a power window between 180kW and 200kW.
Points are awarded using the standard FIA system (see below).

In the event of a double-header race, each event is treated as an individual E-Prix. The format remains the same for each day, with points awarded at the end of each race. There are no aggregated results.


Fans can give their favourite driver an extra speed boost by voting for them both prior to and during the opening six minutes of the race. Voting opens 12 days prior to the race with the three winning drivers receiving an additional 100kJ of energy in their second car only to be used in a power window of 180kW and 200kW. When deploying FanBoost it can only be used once, a series of short bursts will not be possible.

To cast your vote visit >>

Follow the progress of your favourite driver via the live FanBoost leaderboard which monitors real-time voting. As well as being able to vote during the race, fans will also find it much easier to have their say as changes to the voting system will make it possible to vote using a hashtag on Twitter and Instagram.

To submit your vote using a hashtag you must include #FanBoost plus a hashtag followed by the full name of the one driver you wish to vote for.

Voting is available through the official Formula E website and app, and fans are able to vote once a day through each of the available channels.


The FIA Formula E Championship consists of both a drivers’ and teams’ championship. A driver's end of season total is made up of his/her best results. A team's total is made up by counting both driver’s scores throughout the season.

Pit stops/Car changes

During races, drivers must make one mandatory pit stop in order to change cars. This must take place in their garage and be observed by an FIA steward to ensure all safety equipment is correctly applied. A minimum time period will also be enforced. Tyre changes, unless caused by a puncture or damage, are not permitted during this pit stop.


All drivers score points using the standard FIA system of:

1st - 25pts
2nd - 18pts
3rd - 15pts
4th - 12pts
5th - 10pts
6th - 8pts
7th - 6pts
8th - 4pts
9th - 2pts
10th - 1pt

Three points are also awarded to the driver securing Julius Baer pole position, while the driver setting the Visa Fastest Lap receives an additional point.

Tyres & allocation

The Official Tyre Supplier for the FIA Formula E Championship is Michelin. For each race event, each driver is supplied with four new front tyres and four new rear tyres, plus one front and one rear tyre from the previous event.


Changes were made to the e-Licence system for 2015-2016 and are mandatory for any driver wanting to participate. In order to qualify for an e-Licence the following will be required:

  • A specific FIA training session regarding the most important points of the electrical safety, technical and sporting aspects of the competition.
  • To have accumulated in the previous three years at least 20 points of the FIA points system used to qualify for an F1 Super Licence, or to have previously been holding an F1 Super Licence, or to have participated in at least three races of the previous FIA Formula E Championship.
  • A driver judged by the FIA to have consistently demonstrated outstanding ability in single-seater formula cars, but with no opportunity to qualify under any of the requirements above. 

The champion from the previous season will automatically qualify for the F1 Super Licence points system the following year.

Car charging

Car charging is only forbidden during qualifying and the race, together with parc ferme. Charging can however take place during practice sessions.


Meet the Teams & Drivers