Mortara the driver to beat again in FP1 ahead of race two in Berlin

Round 7 winner Edoardo Mortara (ROKiT Venturi Racing) set the benchmark once again in FP1 at Tempelhof ahead of the Shell Recharge Berlin E-Prix Round 8, with a 1m06.373s at the reverse, clockwise layout of the Tempelhof Airport Circuit.

Overnight, work was carried out to switch from the traditional, anti-clockwise version of the track - giving drivers a whole new circuit to get used to on Sunday morning.

RESULTS: Free Practice 1 classification 

Mortara adapted quickest, with Porsche's Andre Lotterer - a pacesetter in Free Practice yesterday - up there once again on home soil. Avalanche Andretti's Jake Dennis came home third, with Pascal Wehrlein (Porsche), front-row qualifier Alexander Sims (Mahindra Racing) and race one runner-up Jean-Eric Vergne (DS TECHEETAH) rounding out the top six.

More than just lap times

Lap times aren't the only focus in practice. Drivers and engineers will be working flat out to understand things like energy management profiles and setup ahead of qualifying and the race later in the day. 

On top of energy management, teams work through everything from their systems, setups, FANBOOST and ATTACK MODE deployments and launches throughout practice to make sure they're on-point when it counts.

YOUR VOTE COUNTS! Give your favourite driver a power-boost with FANBOOST

Overnight shake-up

There's a unique challenge this finale double-header, too, with the second race in Berlin taking place on a reverse, clockwise layout at Tempelhof. Work was completed on the circuit build just after midnight on Sunday morning, with the chequered flag on race one coming at 15:00 on Saturday.

A quick turnaround, then, and drivers have to get to grips with what is effectively an all-new circuit except the unique concrete track surface of the old airfield's apron - a second, spare, set of tyres will help teams and drivers cope with the change-up.

There’s plenty of chance for all-change in qualifying ahead of the Shell Recharge Berlin E-Prix Round 8 to come at 10:40 CET and the race follows at 15:03.