26 Sep 19

BREAKING: Evans remains with Jaguar for 2019/20 campaign and beyond 

Following a successful season with the British squad, in which Mitch Evans scooped the team's very first win, the Kiwi remains with Panasonic Jaguar Racing for the 2019/20 season of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship.  

After securing the British team’s first Formula E win in Rome last season, Panasonic Jaguar Racing is pinning its hopes on the Kiwi driver to clinch more wins, points and podiums for the team in the future.

Signing a multi-year contract with the squad, Evans has been with Jaguar since he joined the all-electric series ahead of the 2016/17 season. Working closely with the outfit, Evans has been readying the Jaguar I-TYPE for the most competitive campaign in the history of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship, as the British manufacturer goes up against the likes of Porsche, Mercedes-Benz, Audi, DS, NIO, Nissan, BMW, Venturi and Mahindra.  

“I’m really happy to be staying with the team for a fourth season,” said Evans. “I have had a taste for victory driving for Panasonic Jaguar Racing now all I want is more!”

“The team is getting stronger and I feel at home here. I’m determined to push forward with Panasonic Jaguar Racing, building on last season’s success as we hunt down more points, podiums and wins.”

During the 2018/19 campaign, Evans was partnered by Nelson Piquet Jr. until the Brazilian was axed from the team and replaced by Brit Alex Lynn. With no word on who will be joining the Kiwi driver in the 2019/20 season, Evans’ teammate will be announced at the team’s official launch on October 2, completing the Panasonic Jaguar Racing driver line-up for the sixth season. 

“We are delighted that Mitch has committed his future to Panasonic Jaguar Racing and will remain an integral part of the team for the foreseeable future,” said Team Principal James Barclay.

“We have grown together in the last three seasons and developed into a winning team capable of fighting at the front of this highly competitive championship.

“Together we look forward to writing the next chapter of Jaguar Racing’s history.”