Formula E rookie test driver line-up revealed

The official entry list for the rookie test, taking place on January 14 in Marrakesh has today been announced.

A ‘rookie’ by definition of FIA regulations, is a driver who has never held an eLicence, and has resulted in a roster of exciting rising stars, along with some familiar names from the world of motorsport - getting their first opportunity to get behind the wheel of the fully-electric Formula E car a day after the Marrakesh E-Prix.

Participants of the Formula E rookie test include a former DTM champion, a GP2 runner-up, a GP2 graduate and a Macau Grand Prix winner.

Paul di Resta, best known for his time in Formula 1 and DTM will be driving for Panasonic Jaguar Racing at the test, making his debut in an electric single-seater.

"I’m really looking forward to my first taste of Formula E and the Jaguar I-TYPE 2. It’s a perfect opportunity, at the right time of year to have a go. It’s great to start a relationship with Panasonic Jaguar Racing. It will be an intensive day of testing in Marrakesh but I'm sure I can give some positive feedback to the team,” di Resta said.

One of racing’s most recognisable names will get a taste of electric performance, with Pietro Fittipaldi, two-time Formula 1 champion Emerson Fittipaldi’s grandson, testing in the other Jaguar I-TYPE 2. "I'm very happy and grateful for the opportunity Panasonic Jaguar Racing has given me to test the Jaguar I-TYPE 2. I’ve always followed Formula E closely since the first tests with the car at Donington. So, I’m really looking forward to driving the car and with Jaguar’s heritage in racing it is a very special privilege,” Fittipaldi said.

DS Virgin Racing have called-up GP2 runner-up and Ferrari’s third driver, Antonio Giovinazzi to get behind the wheel of the Hong Kong race-winning DSV-03 for the first time alongside Joel Eriksson.

Gary Paffett, who has competed in the DTM series since 2003, before winning the championship in 2005, will also be having his first venture in Formula E next week, with the Mercedes-affiliated driver joining-up with the HWA-linked Venturi Formula E team, along with Moroccan local hero Michael Benyahia.

Japanese Formula 3 Championship winner Mitsunori Takaboshi will partner GP2 debutant Alexander Albon for Renault e.dams, while Daniel Juncadella will step out from the simulator to see what time he can set in the M4Electro alongside Sam Dejonghe at Mahindra Racing.

The closed test will run over two sessions across the day, with each driver allowed one new set of tyres and a used set of tyres for the entire test.

View the full driver line-up for the rookie test below:

No. Team Driver

1 Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler Nyck de Vries (NDL)

2 DS Virgin Racing Antonio Giovinazzi (ITA)

3 Panasonic Jaguar Racing Pietro Fittipaldi (BRA)

4 Venturi Formula E Team Michael Benyahia (MAR)

5 Venturi Formula E Team Gary Paffett (GBR)

6 DRAGON Maximilian Gunther (DEU)

7 DRAGON Andrea Caldarelli (ITA)

8 Renault e.dams Mitsunori Takaboshi (JPN)

9 Renault e.dams Alexander Albon (THA)

16 NIO Formula E Team Harry Tincknell (GBR)

18 TECHEETAH James Rossiter (GBR)

19 Mahindra Racing Daniel Juncadella (ESP)

20 Panasonic Jaguar Racing Paul di Resta (GBR)

23 Mahindra Racing Sam Dejonghe (BEL)

25 TECHEETAH Frederic Makowiecki (FRA)

27 Andretti Formula E Bruno Spengler (CAN)

28 Andretti Formula E Colton Herta (USA)

36 DS Virgin Racing Joel Eriksson (SWE)

66 Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler Nico Muller (CHE)

68 NIO Formula E Team Alexandre Imperatori (CHE)

The Marrakesh E-Prix will take place on January 13 at the Circuit International Automobile Moulay El Hassan - click here for tickets.

Note - tickets to the Marrakesh E-Prix do not allow access to the rookie test on January 14.