HKT Hong Kong ePrix: Qualifying groups

The qualifying groups for the 2016 FIA Formula E HKT Hong Kong ePrix - Round 1 - have been announced (see below).

The qualifying session lasts one hour and sees drivers divided into groups, with each group having six minutes to set their best lap. Full power of 200kW is available throughout with drivers only able to use one car. The five fastest drivers then go out one-by-one in the Super Pole shoot-out in a bid to secure Julius Baer pole position.

The fifth fastest driver from the group stages goes out first, when he/she crosses the line to start their flying lap, the pitlane light turns green and the fourth fastest driver heads out onto the track and so on. The driver who sets the fastest time will be awarded an additional three points.

Group 1
Nico Prost, Renault e.DAMS
Stephane Sarrazin, Venturi

Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra Racing
Adam Carroll, Panasonic Jaguar Racing
Loic Duval, Faraday Future Dragon Racing

Group 2
Lucas di Grassi, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport
Antonio Felix da Costa, Andretti
Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing
Oliver Turvey, NextEV NIO

Group 3
Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing
Mitch Evans, Panasonic Jaguar Racing
Robin Frijns, Andretti
Nelson Piquet Jr, NextEV NIO
Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH

Group 4
Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.DAMS
Daniel Abt, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport
Jerome D’Ambrosio, Faraday Future Dragon Racing
Maro Engel, Venturi
Jose Maria Lopez, DS Virgin Racing